Canvassing

今年、広島から来た留学生と友達になった。学期は終わるから、留学生たちは広島へ帰る。もう会いたいよ…日本へ行く前に三ヶ月だけど、長いと思う。でも、友達は、「すごく短い時間だよ!日本へ行った時、一年間も短そうだよ!」と言った。そうかもしれないね。時間は本当に変な事だね。

Starting Monday, I work for the Sierra Club as a canvasser. I get to go door to door, trying to pick up sponsors. I got the job when one day some guy on campus said, “Hey, do you have a summer job yet?” Work isn’t easy to come by, so of course I jumped at the opportunity. I was hired right after the interview, and the pay isn’t so bad.

I don’t know how good I’ll be at going door to door. I keep having visions of hearing door slam after door slam. That feels too pessimistic. I really want to try my best – I could definitely use the money.

Moreover, one of my friends told me when he heard about the job, “I could never do that! But when you finish, you’ll be really good at talking to random people. It’s a good skill, especially if you’re going to study abroad!”

That’s definitely true. I’m not going to lie, I could use all the practice I can get in talking to strangers. I thought about trying to find a different job, but hearing my friend say that made me want to try and stick with this one. I’d feel like a quitter if I quit so soon anyway. It’s also one of those jobs you can only do while you’re young. So why not give it a try while I have the energy?

Of course, they decide on the first day whether or not they’ll keep me. Here’s to hoping I can memorize the rap and convince a few people the environment is worth saving.

~ by megumiwasframed on May 15, 2010.

2 Responses to “Canvassing”

  1. door slam after door slam? been watching too many montages :P if you came to my house, dad would hide everybody in the attic or basement, and try to peek through the window shades until you leave- and probably even spy on you trying the rest of the neighborhood xP

    Surprisingly, all the other grumpy old white people here are quite responsive when they are home. You should give our block a shot :P

  2. がんばって!!

Leave a Reply

 
