Cleaning

まだ18日だ☆最近私は日本語をあまり勉強しなかった…;予定は20時間の飛揚中にたくさん勉強するだ。それは大丈夫かな…

そして、この間私は広島から来た留学生を会った。彼はとても優しい人だと思うよ。彼はミネソタに住んでいるのが楽しんで欲しいだよ!彼はここに住んで、私は広島に住んでいるのが面白い事と思う。彼は私の「替わり」だ(笑)真実は違うけど、それは面白い考えだね。

Next weekend I’m having a garage sale. It serves dual purposes. One is to, of course, earn money for my stay in Japan. The other is to clean out my life of the things I won’t need anymore.

It feels strangely good to get rid of things. I always thought I was kind of materialistic, but the more things I get rid of and realize I don’t need, the more at-ease I’ve been feeling. I keep wanting to get rid of more and more things – maybe everything I can’t take to Japan. The only thing really stopping me is my laziness.

It does, however, feel a bit lonely. My room is plastered with posters and decorations. They’re useless things, really, but the place just feels so different when I start to take them down. It’s like the place is becoming less my room, less my property. And if I get rid of all these things, I’ll still live in this place for a year after I return.

I wonder what it will be like to live here again after I get back? Will it feel like my home anymore?

I won’t know until then. But I think for right now I should get rid of more stuffed animals. They don’t do anything but take up space.

~ by megumiwasframed on September 6, 2010.

3 Responses to “Cleaning”

  1. can I have your other bed? :B

  2. It’s very strange coming “home” after being on your own. I never went so far physically, but emotionally I was, and home never felt like home until I made my own again.

Leave a Reply

 
