Pikachu

This occurred right after I got back from my homestay, but I feel like it deserves its own post.

The host families sent me home with several cans of beer. While drinking one with my friend, we hopped on facebook and started talking to one of our Japanese friends. He’s just about the cutest thing ever (though he’ll insist, “I’M NOT CUTE!” if you tell him that) and I hadn’t seen him in nearly a week. The conversation leading up to this isn’t terribly important, but our conversation ended in, “If you wear your Pikachu costume, we’ll give you a beer.”

Dashing downstairs (since we live in an all-girl’s dorm) we found him literally sprinting up to us while wearing a bright yellow costume. He wore it for Halloween, but I suppose we figured it needed more use. Either that or his cuteness is multiplied by about ten when he wears a Pikachu costume. We chilled on the stairs outside the dorm with him for a while as he drank his promised beer. The group of people with us slowly grew as our conversation went on.

When there were about seven of us we decided to go to 7-11 to get more to drink and eat. Pikachu pulled the hood of his costume over his face and kept saying (in a Japanese accent), “I am gaijin. I am gaijin.” We had to walk to the far 7-11 because his friend worked at the closer one and he didn’t want to be seen.

Unfortunately the other 7-11 contained an entire sports team after practice and one of Pikachu’s friends, who chased him across the store trying to get a peek at his face.

With a thoroughly embarrassed Pokemon we returned to the dorm. After which the group with us began to dwindle until it was just me, a friend, and Pikachu. From here our conversation turned more serious even despite our friend’s ridiculous costume.

So I guess this is a long-winded way of saying I had a philosophical conversation with a Pikachu.

~ by megumiwasframed on November 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
