Crush!

This month I’m going to recommend a whole album.

While browsing around YouMe Town this CD caught my eye. I picked it up for closer inspection. What it is is a compilation of famous or iconic visual kei songs from the 90’s covered by current visual kei bands. I have a love for covers – I love to hear how different artists interpret the same piece. It’s also interesting to hear how the sound of the genre has changed over the past 10 or so years. I find that a lot of the change is in the quality of the sound (not quality as in how good it is, but rather quality as in the tone), so it’s fascinating to hear these songs redone in a modern way.

I was expecting my favorite song on the album to be Dir en grey’s Schweinの椅子 as done by Merry, as they are my favorite bands on both the modern and 90’s side. But instead it was X Japan’s 紅 as performed by Matenrou Opera. I hope you’ll enjoy it as well. And perhaps you’ll give the original a try for comparison’s sake.

 

~ by megumiwasframed on January 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
