Aftermath

Of course the news has been covering the quake and the tsunami almost constantly. Most of it has turned to the situation with the nuclear reactors in Fukushima. There’s something about watching it that feels like some kind of sci-fi movie. It’s unreal to see it happening, especially in the country where I am located. It’s really kind of eerie.

And yet here in Hiroshima people are generally living life as they had all year. The roads are busier than usual with people moving in for the new school year (Japanese school years are April until March with several long breaks in between). Yesterday some friends and I volunteered at a nursery school where the kids were all as cheerful and energetic as cute little kids should be. Tomorrow some friends and I are going out drinking. Friday I might be taking a day trip to Kagawa. People are doing experiments for their majors. I went to practice flute the other day and several other members stopped by.

Life as usual, unless you turn on the television.

One of the pictures taken by my friend: crumbled road.

I am glad that I’ve gotten in touch with all of my friends who are in various parts of Japan. A friend in Hokkaido says some cities are dangerous, but his home of Sapporo is doing fine. A friend who had been in Korea took several extra days to message me back, but I’m going to guess his travel got a bit delayed. A friend who had been working in Tokyo made his journey back. I saw him this morning looking quite sleepless and lacking his usual easygoing demeanor. For the past few days he’d been posting pictures of the damage in Tokyo on facebook – they looked like scenes out of a zombie movie. Another friend in Tokyo, and exchange student, while okay, is pondering whether she should return to America or not.

Another pictures by him. Tumbled signs.

Apparently the Prime Minister has said that another Chernobyl is unlikely since the technology and safety in place on the Japanese reactors is much more solid than Chernobyl’s had been. Yet at the same time experts are saying that they’re unsure of the situation within the cores. It is, as I said, eerie, but I want to be optimistic. I don’t want to be forced back to America before my time’s up, and I don’t want anyone I’ve met to be stuck in a bad situation.

For now Hiroshima is quiet, and I hope it remains that way. I also hope things go smoothly up north. I have faith that Japan can pull through this.

気をつけて皆。

~ by megumiwasframed on March 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
