Days of Wine and Roses

About a month ago during one of the jazz circle jam sessions we played this song. One of the circle’s vocalists chose it. I had been typically unimpressed with most of the circle’s vocalists, so I didn’t exactly have high expectations for him either.

Until I heard him sing it. Not only was his English surprisingly comprehensible (he says only when he sings), but his voice was beautiful. It was calming in a way that’s hard to describe. I fell in love with the song and the unique interval used in the chorus, but the problem is, all the professional versions I’ve found don’t match up to the expectations his voice put in my brain (the one I posted is probably the closest, but also the least jazz-like).

In my own ensemble I’m playing it on flute, but I wish I could play it with that vocalist again.

~ by megumiwasframed on April 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
