H Junior High

Today was my first day at H Junior High. I love this school! The teachers and students are both very nice, as well as easy to communicate with!

I gave an introduction in each class, one that was improved from my first attempt at T Junior High. The kids had a lot of fun trying to guess facts about me and Minnesota. Then each class had to do an English recitation, which I helped to grade. One student in each class of the day was extremely good, and the rest of the students would make shocked noises and then cheer.

At lunch I ate with class 3-2, one of the classes I’d had earlier in the day. The boy sitting across from me was very excited about having me there. He kept talking to me in Japanese, but he kept urging others to speak to me in English. First he started with the girl who had done very well on her recitation, and she did talk to me a little in English. Then he started bothering others. When I asked why he didn’t speak to me in English, he just ignored me, haha. Then he just started urging people to talk to me in general. “Why don’t you?” they would ask. “I already have!” he would brag.

One girl during break time kept pestering me for my age. “How old do I look?” I asked, and let her guess. Actually, she got it correct, but I still didn’t tell her. “You have to ask in English,” I said. She ran off to ask a friend how to translate her phrase. When I told her she said, “So young! Younger than me!”

You kids are really funny.

I wasn’t sure whether or not I’d like teaching, but after yesterday and today I think I will. 頑張ります!

~ by megumiwasframed on September 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
