Rattling Windows

Lately I’ve been reading Hmong ghost stories. Back in Minnesota, I had many Hmong friends, and I was always interested in hearing about their culture, and, by extension, their ghost stories. Recently a facebook page made just for the purpose of sharing these ghost stories opened up. When I have idle time, I’ll browse through them.

The other morning I woke up at some bizarre hour and couldn’t get back to sleep. I started browsing through the stories. The things submitted to the page are very hit or miss. I skim through lots that are not very well written, and many others that would only be interesting if you were superstitious.

On this morning, however, there were several good ones in a row. I was plenty entertained at that early hour. There was one in particular I was reading that took place in Laos, in which a young girl runs off to find a pig that has escaped, and a mysterious voice starts to follow her. The narrator does a good job of describing the squeaky, unnatural sound of the voice that copies whatever the girl says. The girl tells her uncles about the voice, and they start following it to its source. All the while it spits fragments of their conversations back at them through the jungle. As the girl’s uncles start to cut away at some vines barring their path, they see…

At this point my apartment shook rather violently. The windows rattled as if they’d been hit by some strong wind. It wasn’t a typhoon, and it wasn’t an earthquake. I jumped rather noticeably. “What was that?” I asked. I didn’t get any answer.

I ended up laughing at myself for having physically jumped. I then put it out of mind and continued reading ghost stories.

It wouldn’t be until later that day that I would find out the culprit. I got a nice clear photo of him and everything. Here it is:

Whenever people here talked about the volcano erupting, I’d always just thought they meant it spewed more ash. Apparently it gives a nice shake, too.

Kagoshima’s lovely volcano, Sakurajima, seems to have a sense of humor, along with impeccable timing.

~ by megumiwasframed on September 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
